- Circuit Clerk
- Attorney Referral
- Child Support
- Court Calendar
- Court Divisions
- Criminal Records Check
- Electronic Filing
- Ex Parte
- Fax Filing
- Jury Duty
- Local Court Rules
- Municipal Courts
- Make a Payment
- Non-partisan Court Plan
- Request to Record Court Proceedings
- Small Claims
- Traffic Bureau
Details about the Driver Improvement Program (DIP)
The goal of the Driving Improvement Program is to meet the needs of the driving public
and the court system. This course is designed as a court referral program to "take away"
those unwanted assessed points to your driver's license, by taking an 8 hour driving
course. The sites offering the courses and the curriculum of each course are governed by
Missouri Revised Statute 302.302. A course may be taken once in 36 months.
Avoiding Point Assessment on Your Driver's License
If you are charged with a moving violation in Greene County, and you plead guilty and pay your fine and costs in full to the Greene County Traffic Bureau (GCTB), you will automatically be approved to attend an authorized Driver Improvement Program course to avoid having points assessed on your Missouri driver's license. However, this program is not available for a violation committed in a commercial motor vehicle or for any driver who has a commercial driver's license (CDL) from Missouri (or any other state). Attendance at DIP is not mandatory. If you choose to attend DIP, you must complete an approved DIP course within 60 days of your guilty plea and you must have the DIP program you attend send proof of completion to the Missouri Department of Revenue (DOR), Driver License Bureau, P.O. Box 200, Jefferson City, MO 65105. No points will be assessed to your Missouri driver's records if you meet these requirements. For violations committed while operating a motorcycle, the rider must attend an approved motorcycle-rider training course following the rules above to avoid point assessment.
The DIP course or Motorcycle Rider Course you attend will need to know the following to provide proof of course completions to DOR:
- Court Originator Number: MO039053J
- Court Name: Greene County
- Court Case Number: Your traffic citation number found at top of citation or case number (example: 1331CY-00000).
- Conviction Date: Can be obtained on Missouri Case.net by entering your citation or case number in the case number search field. When your case comes up on the screen, click on the case number block. This will bring up the case header screen. Under disposition you will see "guilty plea" if your guilty plea has been processed. If the disposition is guilty plea, check the disposition date. This is the conviction date you will need. If the disposition reads "not disposed" your guilty plea is still pending. This could be because GCTB has not processed your payment yet. It could also be because GCTB has received your payment but has not yet received the original ticket from the law enforcement agency. You can not take a DIP course before you have the date of your conviction to provide to the course. Remember, you have 60 days after the conviction date to complete the course. If you can't access the Internet or need help call the GCTB at (417) 829-6565 for the information you need.
No person may attend the Driver Improvement Program to avoid point assessment more than
one time in any 36 month period. Although course completion certificates should be sent
directly to the Missouri Department of Revenue, if you receive one directly you should
forward it to Missouri Department of Revenue, Driver License Bureau, P.O. Box 200,
Jefferson City, MO 65105.
For violations committed while operating a motorcycle, the rider must attend an approved motorcycle-rider training course following the rules above to avoid point assessment.
A moving violation, under Missouri law, is a "traffic violation where at the time of the violation the motor vehicle involved is in motion." You should check with the Missouri Department of Revenue (DOR) to determine if a particular charge is a moving violation or for any other information concerning your driving record. You can reach the DOR help desk at (573) 751-4475.
Out of State Drivers
If your driver's license is from a state other than Missouri, attendance at the Driver Improvement Program in Missouri will not guarantee that your home state will not assess points or otherwise enter a moving violation on your record. You should check with your home state authorities to determine what rules apply.
Springfield DIP Courses
Approved Missouri class locations
Motorcycle Rider Courses
Call (800) 801-3588 or (660) 543-4743.
Additional information at: http://www.ucmo.edu/safetycenter/dip/
"DIP" is a statewide program presented in cooperation with the Missouri Department of Transportation and the Missouri Division of Highway Safety. The Driver Improvement Program state office is located at:
Missouri Safety Center-UCM
Warrensburg, MO 64093